Skip to main content

CMC CWPD Library Senior Thesis : Articles

Finding Scholarly, Peer Reviewed Articles

When you want to find articles about topics in your area of interest, use the databases for that subject. Lots of things we'll own online, but for the things we do not own online, make sure to place a request for that item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

See the boxes below and the "Research by Discipline" tab for database suggestions or go to our full database list.

INDEXED DATABASES

The library’s online catalog (Blais) does NOT contain individual articles within periodicals or journals. If you want to find articles on a particular topic or by a particular author, you should use an indexed database. An index is a collection of article citations organized by subject matter. Indexes are compiled by human indexers, who actually read or review each article and then select the subjects covered by the article from a list of established subject descriptors. That is, they use a “controlled vocabulary” in much the same way that the online catalog (Blais) uses the Library of Congress subject headings for indexing the subjects of books. In fact, if you find a relevant subject heading in Blais, you can often use it in an indexed database, and vice versa.

Examples of indexed databases include: Academic Search Premier (or any EBSCO database), Web of Science, and ABI/Inform (or any ProQuest database).

FULL-TEXT DATABASES

Kind-of like searching Google, full-text databases can be tricky to search and you can end up with thousands of results, many of which aren't relevant to your topic. Since they usually aren't indexed (like the Indexed Databases above), they don't have a common language. This means you need to think about synonyms for your search terms. For example, if you are searching for "Children," and not finding relevant information, try related terms such as "juvenile," "adolescent," etc...

Examples of full-text databases include: JSTOR, and LexisNexis Academic.

General Databases

These are general databases that will serve any research project. For discipline specific databases, see the "Research by Discipline" tab.

Statistics Databases

For resources beyond our databases, also check out our Data & Statistics and Government Statistics Research Guides.

Get This Item

Once you have found articles you want to read, the button provides a quick way to find any available online full-text copies or request electronic copies through Interlibrary Loan.

Step 1: first looks for any full text of your article that is available in the library's online resources. When it finds full text, you will usually see a "Get Article" link that will take you directly to the article or to a page where you can open the full text as either html or pdf.

Step 2:  If the library doesn't have electronic access to the article you need, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Within a few days, you will receive an email from the library with a link to a downloadable copy of the article you requested which is yours to keep. NOTE: Be sure to download the article as soon as you receive the email; copyright law does not allow the link to remain active for more than a few days.