Skip to main content

Places you can go in the Library: Mudd Second Floor

Atrium

The Solarium is located on the second floor of Mudd behind the Multi-tier stacks.  The Solarium provides a nice enviroment for studying and relaxing.

 

 

Braxton Browsing Collection

The Braxton Collection of Popular Literature is located on second floor of the Mudd, near the Research & Discovery Zone.

This collection was established in memory of former library staff member Henrietta Braxton and contains a selection of current, popular literature.  Each book is available for check out for a period of four weeks.  Since the library rents this collection, the selection of book titles available constantly changes.  Be sure to check the collection often, to see what new titles are available.

 

 

 

Circulation and Services Desk


The Services Desk is located on the second floor of Mudd. This desk is the place where you can check-out your books, request videos, and pick up your Link+ and Inter-library loan material(s). 

Additionally, the staff at the Services Desk can help you find the location of the material you need or help you use the printers and other devices in the library.

For the more involved research projects, the Services Desk is also the place you can consult with one of the library's reference librarians.

 


 

 

East Patio

Located on the east side of the library next to the Atrium, the East Patio provides a nice and relaxed place to study while enjoying the outdoors.

   

Keck Classroom

The Keck Classroom is located on the second floor of Mudd and is the place where many of the library's instructional workshops meet. 

The Classroom provides audio-visual and network technologies for instruction that allow the library to help students find their way through the increasingly bewildering maze of choices for locating, analyzing, and using information. Students are able to learn to use library and information resources in highly interactive, hands-on classes. In addition, each workstation provides space for students to work collaboratively with others.

For a listing of upcoming (Love Your) Library Workshops you can check here.


 

 

New Book Collection

The New Book Shelf is located on the second floor of the Mudd, near the Research and Discovery Zone.

Books that are new to the collections of the Honnold-Mudd Library are located on the New Book Shelf.  These books will remain here for a brief period before they are integrated into the regular stacks.

 

 

 

Atrium

The Atrium is located on the Second Floor of Mudd near the Services Desk.  The Atrium consists of a number of computer stations that patrons can use. These computers can be used to browse the library's catalogue or databases, as well as to work on research projects and papers.

The computers located in the area to the west of the Services Desk and the three pods located South of the Services Desk require log-in credentials, which are restricted to students, staff, faculty, and alumni of the Claremont Colleges.  The three stations located across from the Services Desk are available to any library patron and do not require log-in credentials.


 

Software available on Atrium Computers:

  • Accelrys Draw
  • ACDLabs
  • Adobe Acrobat 10 Pro
  • Adobe Digital Editions
  • Asian Language Pack
  • Chem Sketch
  • Firefox
  • Flash Player
  • Google Chrome
  • Internet Explorer
  • LibX (Installed in Firefox and Chrome)
  • Microsoft Office 2010
  • Quicktime
  • Refworks Refgrabit (Internet Explorer & Firefox Add On)
  • VLC
  • Windows Ease of Access Features
  • Zotero (Firefox plugin)

Digital Tool Shed

7 laptops are available for use in the Digital Tool Shed, with all of the software listed below installed on them. The laptops cannot be taken out of the Digital Tool Shed.

  • Esri ArcGIS
  • ArcGIS
  • Wolfram Mathematics
  • Adobe Acrobat 9 Pro and Reader
  • Skype
  • FileZilla
  • Win RAR
  • Video LAN
  • Green Screen Kit
  • Google Earth Pro

The Digital Tool Shed also offers a Data Visualization Wall and projector with HDMI connectivity and quadview support. 

All 7Cs faculty, students, and staff can reserve the Digital Tool Shed. To reserve the DTS ahead of time, submit your request to Chris Clarke. The tablet outside of the Digital Tool Shed can be used for same-day requests.

See the Digital Tool Shed LibGuide for more information on software offered, room use, and reservations.