Skip to main content

For History Seniors: Primary Source Research Tips

Primary Sources in Library Catalogs

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond.  Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own Library Search.
 
1. Use the author search  to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
 
2.  Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note:  you can also limit by language and many other ways)
 
3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit to the word  "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"women and renaissance" in the keyword field

"sources" in the subject field. 
 
(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in
United States History 1861-1865, Civil War Sources
 
A  rich source of primary materials is Honnold/Mudd Special Collections  and its librarians.  
 
 

Honnold Special Collections and Aeon

A  rich source of primary materials is Honnold/Mudd Special Collections  and its librarian Lisa Crane.  Please sign up for a reader's account with AEON, which lets you request materials in Special Collections before you arrive.

Research Guides, Databases and The Greater World Wide Web

There are many digital sources of primary materials.  The best places to find these are:

1.  The Library's  primary source databases, which can be found in the History Research Guides and the Research Guides for other subjects.  Research Guides are also a good way to connect with the Librarian Subject Specialists. 

2.  Our own Digital Library.

3.  Digital Libraries across the US and the world.  Many educational institutions, many organizations, many countries, and many states have their digital libraries.  A good search engine for these is BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine  ).  Or use your favorite search engines.

You might also try locating print materials in archives, historical societies, and via The Library Search, World Cat, and your favorite search engines.