Glossary / Keywords
The Library Search: A place to find books, articles, CDs, DVDs, electronic books, journal titles ( available in our library -- and In libraries in the US and around the Globe (via WorldCat). To find precise title, try putting it in quotations marks. To navigate, use the limiters on the left hand side of the results.
Resource Sharing: The first place to order books, CDs, DVDs that we don’t own -- or articles in journals to which we don't subscribe. Log in using your network credentials (same as with signing into SAKAI, databases or e-books).
Databases (of many flavors): Places to find scholarly books and articles; popular magazine and newspaper articles; primary sources of all sorts: text, sound image. Arranged alphabetically, by subject, or by format.
Academic Search Premier: A good database in which to begin your research for almost any research assignment. Indexes both popular and scholarly articles in all subjects.
Get This Item OR "Find at your Library" (language varies in different databases): when full text is not present in the database, click this link to see if we have full text through another provider, or request via Resource Sharing. (Note: this link is available in most, if not all, of our databases)
Research Guides: For guided research. A very good place to start and to connect to the librarians specializing in different subjects. Also includes how-to guides for bibliographic management software and Ebooks.
Zotero and Refworks: two types of Bibliographic Management Software that can help you collect information about your sources and format your citations and bibliography. Don't forget to download the plugins for Microsoft Word
Adam Rosenkranz: The librarian for this course. Adam’s subjects include Philosophy, History, Religion, Classics, Arabic and German.