Skip to main content

Departmental and Institutional Libraries of the Claremont Colleges: Scripps College

Denison Library

Located on the Scripps campus, the Ella Strong Denison Library has been a pivotal part of the Scripps' community since it opened in 1931. 

The Denison library currently maintains a diverse collection of rare and unique materials, including a Rare Book collection, a collection of Historical and Literary Manuscripts, the Ida Rust Macpherson By and About Women, as well as, the Scripps College and Scripps Press Archives.  A complete listing of collections can be found here.

The Denison Library is a special collections library and material can only be used on site.

More information about Denison Library (including hours open) can be found on the Denison Library's website.

A catalogue of the books available at the Ella Strong Denison Library can be found in the Library Search.

   

Garrison Theater

 

 

The Nancy Glanville Music Library

The Nancy Glanville Music Library at Scripps College is open to all members of the Claremont University Consortium; only students enrolled in classes at  Joint Music Program of Scripps, Claremont McKenna, Harvey Mudd, and Pitzer College can checkout items, however.

It houses an extensive collection of music scores, texts, LPs and CDs. Students can checkout headphones to listen to recordings on available devices.

The library is open Monday through Friday 8am to 5pm and Sunday through Thursday 7pm to 10pm.

Vita Nova Hall

Intercollegiate Feminist Center Library

Located in Vita Nova Hall, the Intercollegiate Feminist Center has a small library available for research.  The library has many titles of interest to women's studies.  In addition,  the library began collecting in 2001 Claremont College theses on women's studies and topics related to women's studies.

The library is open to students, faculty, and staff of the Claremont Colleges.  The books are available for lending, and can be borrowed for a period of 1 month (renewals available).

The library is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.

More information about the Intercollegiate Feminist Center Library and a catalogue of the library's collection can be found here.