Skip to main content

Departmental and Institutional Libraries of the Claremont Colleges: Pomona College

Crookshanks Hall

English Department Library
Located in Crookshanks Hall, the English Department at Pomona College maintains it own library.  The library contains a variety of reference materials, as well as a collection of senior theses, creative writing projects, and literary magazines.

The collection is primarily reference collection, and the books are not available for lending. 

The library is open Monday to Friday from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00pm to 5:00pm.

The English Department Library is open to any student, faculty, and staff of the Claremont Colleges.

The English Department maintains their own catalogue of what books are available in the collection.

 

  Stonehill Media Studies Library

Edmunds Building

Woodford Geology Library

Located on the second floor of the Edmunds Building, the Pomona Geology Department hosts a library available for research purposes.

The collection is primarily a reference collection and the books are not available for lending.

The Woodford Geology Library is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm (when someone is in the Geology Department).

The library is open to students and faculty in the Geology program.

The collection is not currently catalogued.

Linguistics & Cognitive Sciences Library

Hahn Hall


Pacific Basin Institute Archive

Located on the first floor of Hahn Building room 112, the Pacific Basin Institute houses their own resource archive.

The archive offers an audiovisual library and archival collection that consists of various subjects in art, culture, economics, history and religion of the Asia/Pacific region.

The PBI Archive is open Monday through Thursday from 8:00am to 5:00pm (Closed 12:00pm-1:00pm for lunch)

The Library is open to all staff and faculty of Pomona and all other Claremont Colleges. For more information about the archive, visit their website or contact the Academic Coordinator of the PBI Archive Lisa Maldonado.

Lincoln Building

Psychology Library

Located on the second floor of the Lincoln Building in room 2126, the Pomona Psychology Department maintains a library available to for research purposes.

The library is open 24 hours a day seven days a week via card access.

The collection is open to psychology majors and to students who request access through the Department of Psychology Office.

The books are available for checkout.

The Department of Psychology maintians its own catalogue of the materials available in the collection.

 

The Corinne Palos-Dearborn Chican@/Latin@ Studies Library

Located on the first floor of the Lincoln Building in room 1104, the Chicano/a and Latino/a Studies Department at Pomona houses a small library.

The library is open by appointment only and is only available to student associated with  Chicano/a and Latino/a Studies program, either as majors or currently enrolled in an approriate course.

The collection is primarily a reference collection and the books are not available for lending.

Mason Hall

History Library/Reading Room

Located on first floor of Mason Hall in room 121, the History Department houses a library available for research purposes.

The collection is primarily a reference collection and the books are not available for lending.

The History Library is open Monday through Thursday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm and 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm.  Additional hours for the library can be found here.

The History Library is open to students, faculty, and staff of any of the Claremont Colleges.

The catalogue of the books available at the History Library can be found in Library Search.

   

Foreign Language Resource Center (FLRC)

The Foreign Language Resource Center (FLRC) is located in Mason Hall 101 and is open Monday through Thursday from 10am to 7pm, and Fridays from 10am to 3pm.

Its in-house resources include:

  • Smart boards
  • workstations for video editing
  • oversized scanners
  • and multi-region VCRs and DVD players

To view the FLRC’s audiovisual library, click here.

The FLRC also offers language tutoring in conjunction with the Oldenborg Center. If you would like to schedule a one-on-one appointment outside of the designated FLRC office hours, please contact the Language Partners 24 to 48 hours in advance. Click here to view the language partner schedule and their contact information.

Romance Languages & Literatures

Located on north side of the second floor of Mason Hall, the Romance Languages & Literatures Department houses a library for research and study purposes.

The collection is primarily a reference collection and has no available catalog. After exploring the library, students and professors can submit a request to checkout a book to Sheri Shepherd, Academic Department Coordinator of Asian Languages and Literatures and Romance Languages and Literature, at sheri.shepherd@pomona.edu.

The library is open Monday through Friday from 8:30am to 5pm. It is open to students, faculty, and staff of any of the Claremont Colleges.

 

Asian Languages & Literatures

Located on the north side of the second floor of Mason Hall, the Asian Languages & Literatures Department houses a library for research and study purposes.

The collection is primarily a reference collection and has no available catalog. After exploring the library, students and professors can submit a request to checkout a book to Sheri Shepherd, Academic Department Coordinator of Asian Languages and Literatures and Romance Languages and Literature, at sheri.shepherd@pomona.edu.

The library is open Monday through Friday from 8:30am to 5pm. It is open to students, faculty, and staff of any of the Claremont Colleges.

Pearson Hall

The Classics, Religious Studies, and Philosophy Departments Library

The Classics, Religious Studies, and Philosophy Departments at Pomona all share a library.  The library is divided into two collections located in Pearson Hall.  The Classics and Religious Studies collections are located on the ground floor in room 010A, and the Philosophy collection is located on the second floor in room 208B.

The collection is primarily a reference collection and the books are not available for lending.

The Classic and Religious Studies collection is open Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm.  The Philosophy collection is open Monday through Friday 8:00 am to 5:00pm.

The Classics, Religious Studies, and Philosophy library is open to students, faculty, and staff from any of the Claremont Colleges.

The Classic and Religious Studies collections are currently in the process of being, and there is currently no formal catalogue for the Philosophy collection.

 

Classics and Religious Studies Collection
Pearson Room 010A

 

Philosophy Collection Pearson Room 208B

 

Walton Commons

Queer Resource Center Library

The Queer Resource Center hosts a small library inside of Walton Commons that is available for research and pleasure reading.

The library is open Monday through Thursday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm and on Friday from 10:00 am to 5:00pm.

The library is open to students, faculty, and staff of any of the Claremont Colleges.  The books are available for checkout.

More information about the library can be found at the Queer Resource Center's Website.

The Queer Resource Center maintains its own catalog, which can be found here.

 

 

Thatcher Music Building

Victor Montgomery Music Library

The Victor Montgomery Music Library is located on the second floor room 209 of the Thatcher Music Building. It is the departmental library for the Pomona College Department. It's holdings consist largely of performing parts (for solo instruments and chamber music) that circulate and sound recordings (primarily CDs and LPs) that do not circulate. There is also a small collection of books on music that circulate and a small reference section that does not. The library also maintains an archive of recordings of performances given under the auspices of the Pomona College Music Department.

This library is open to students and faculty of all the Claremont colleges.

Library Hours:

M-TH 9:00 a.m-12:00p.m; 1:00p.m- 5:00p.m; 7:00p.m-11p.m

F 9:00a.m-12:00p.m; 1:00p.m-5:00p.m

Sat 12:00p.m-5:00p.m

Sun 12:00p.m-5:00p.m; 7:00p.m-11:00p.m    

There is no online catalog for this library. However, you can contact the Departmental Librarian Graydon F. Beeks here for more information.

 

 

Lebus Court

View of Lebus Court from Bonita Avenue

Visual Resources Center

The Visual Resources Center (VRC) is located in room 101 of Lebus Court on the south side of Bridges Hall of Music (“Little Bridges”). It is housed within the Department of Art History and is open Monday through Friday from 8am to 12pm and 1pm to 5pm. It is held by the Department of Art History at Pomona College, and it is open to the faculty, students and staff of all the Claremont Colleges.

Its collection includes:
  • Through the Department of Art History, the Center maintains subscriptions to major English-language art and architecture periodicals, e.g. Art Bulletin, Art Journal, Art Newspaper, October, Artforum, Art in American, Blouin Art and Auction, Adbusters, etc. Both current and back issues are available for consultation during center hours.
  • Over 550 films on the history of art and culture and individual artists
  • 400 VHS cassettes
  • A basic reference collection of nearly1,200 books covering the history of art and archaeology from the Palaeolithic period to the present day
  • Over 125,000 35mm slides (currently in the process of being organized, with some being removed)

An incomplete listing of the VRC’s materials can be found here. If you need help locating a material, please contact the Curator of Visual Resources, Susan K. Thalmann, at sthalmann@pomona.edu.