CAS covers patents from around the world. Patent records, meeting CAS selection criteria, from 9 of the major patent offices worldwide are available online in CAplusSM within 2 days of the patents' issuance, and fully indexed by CAS scientists in less than 27 days from the date of issue.
Patents are selected from over 35,000 International Patent Classification (IPC) codes and 99 U.S. National Patent Classification Codes. Coverage is described in the following lists:
IPC Reform I for Guaranteed Coverage - 1/10
IPC Reform II for Selective Coverage - 11/11
Coverage of CA Basic Patents by Year (Country Codes and Years) - 4/12
Patent Kind Codes for CA Basic and Patent Family Members - 4/12
IPC7 List I for Guaranteed Coverage - 7/00
IPC7 List II for Selective Coverage - 7/00
U.S. National Patent Classifications Codes for Selective Coverage
CAS Coverage of Prophetic Substances
PatentStorm offers full-text U.S. patents and patent applications from the U.S. Patent Office, providing advanced search capabilities and full image retrieval in handy PDF format. Browsable by inventor, exminer and date.
The Patent Technology Monitoring Team (PTMT) periodically issues general statistics and miscellaneous reports that profile patenting activity at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Several PTMT reports are free while some other products and services are available at reasonable cost. Specialized services and custom reports also may be available subject to the availability of resources.