Research Guides: Elections & Voting Information: Getting Started

Getting started

If you are new to conducting research:
Consider reviewing the Starting Your Research tutorial to learn the phases and processes of doing research.

For general library information: New to Using the Library

Start your Elections & Voting research with these key resources:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover abstracts and citations from leading political science journals.
Content type: Abstracts and citations for scholarly articles, monographs, magazine articles, dissertations, theses
Coverage dates: 1975-present
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication Political Science Abstracts.
Language: English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, German

Library Search!
Library Search is the library catalog. Use it to look for books, videos and DVDs, music scores, and other materials owned by the Library. Library Search includes information on both paper and electronic materials.

Reference Sources for Elections and Voting

Almanac of American Politics 2022
Currently, all editions are cataloged separately. 2014-2022 are electronic; older editions are in print.

CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for finding information on bill profiles and congressional floor votes as well as on other American government, politics, and current affairs topics.
Content type: Primary sources, government reports, books, magazine articles, biographies, data
Coverage dates: 1789-present
CQ Press Library incudes the following resources: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher Plus Archive; CQ Magazine; Politics in America; Supreme Court Yearbook; Voting and Elections Collection.
Language: English
Keywords: Congressional Quarterly
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore this reference resource produced by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) about countries around the world.
Content type: Country information, maps, data and statistics, reference materials
Coverage dates: Current year
Includes information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Language: English