Skip to main content

Environmental Analysis 172: Legislative Information (U.S. Congress)

This seminar explores the history and cultural significance of the public lands, and of the agencies that manage them, including the US Forest Service, Park Service, Fish and Wildlife Service, and the Bureau of Land Management.

How To Find Legislative Information

Honnold/Mudd Library subscribes to a database, Proquest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional) that provides indexing and full-text access to most Congressional publications from 1769 to 2004. Documents and electronic publications after 2004 are generally available through Blais, the online catalog as well as from GPO Access; FDsys; and U.S. Congress Web sites.

Government Information in/via the Library

Government Information in the Honnold/Mudd Library can be found in various formats and through various means. Depending on what you are searching for, you can begin in several places. The government [documents] previously were only available in paper, and the collection is old, some documents dating from the 18th century and even earlier in the case of the British documents. They are also available in a variety of formats, paper, microfiche, CD-ROM, and electronic (online).

Although most information published currently is available in electronic format, about 50 % of the collection is not cataloged in Blais. There are ways to search for government documents in some historical catalogs, then inquire whether or not Honnold has the document (or even go look yourself)

Most government documents received since 1976 are cataloged in Blais, but not all. Even electronic documents are cataloged in Blais.

U.S. Government Documents (most) are located on the 1st floor of the Mudd building, and are in Sudoc order. There are scattered U.S. documents that can be found throughout the library stacks, under LC classification number.

California State Documents are also located on Mudd 1; adjacent to the U.S. collection, and are almost all cataloged in LC classification. There is a small collection of California documents classified in Caldocs, but these are slowly being reclassified in LC.

International Government documents are classified in LC and integrated into the general library stacks. There are some pre-1970ish documents that are unclassified. Some are located in storage, and some (such as the League of Nations) are shelved on Mudd 1, in the Government Publications stack areas.

There is an extensive British government documents collection that is uncataloged and shelved on Mudd 1 i the Government Publications stack areas.

skjdbhawilsegfc

Legislative & Administrative Law Information Databases

State & Local Government Links

Links to Foriegn Governments and Intenational Law Sites

Subject Guide

Mary Martin's picture
Mary Martin
Contact:
909-621-8923

Citing Government Information