Skip to main content

Finding California Law (Legal Research): Judicial

Information on the California legal system.


California has a three-tiered court system.

Image from:

  1. The California Supreme Court (the highest court)
  2. The California Court of Appeals. Divided into six districts.
  3. Trial courts (Superior Court). There are 58, one in each county.

Cases, which are written opinions by a judge, are published for the California Supreme Court and the California Court of Appeals. Note: Trial (superior) court cases are generally not published and must be requested directly from the court.

For more information, see the websites below.

Sources of California Cases

Published California Case Law

If you want to know where California case law is published, check out this map. For best results, view in the full-screen version.