Skip to main content

Legal Citation: Common Abbreviations

The basics of legal citation including citation styles Bluebook and ALWD.

Common Abbreviations

Abbreviation

Title

Description/Coverage

A.
A.2d

Atlantic Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from CT, DE, D.C., ME, MD, NH, NJ, PA, RI, VT

Am. Jur.
Am. Jur. 2d

American Jurisprudence

Legal encyclopedia that provides case citations and cross references to other resources

A.L.R.
A.L.R.2d
A.L.R.3d
A.L.R.4th
A.L.R.5th
A.L.R.6th
A.L.R. Fed.

American Law Reports

Article series that provides in-depth coverage of legal topics; provides case citations and cross references; printed in multiple series, including a Federal series

Cal. App.

Cal. App. 2d

Cal. App. 3d

Cal. App. 4th

California Appellate Reports

Reporter containing cases from the CA Courts of Appeal

Cal. Code Regs. Or

C.C.R.

California Code of Regulations

Official code of in-force California state agency rules and regulations

Cal. Jur.

Cal. Jur. 2d

Cal. Jur. 3d

California Jurisprudence

California specific legal encyclopedia that provides case citations and cross references to other resources

Cal.

Cal. 2d

Cal. 3d

Cal. 4th

California Reports

Reporter containing cases from the CA Supreme Court

Cal. Rptr.
Cal. Rptr. 2d
Cal. Rptr. 3d

California Reporter

Reporter containing cases from CA Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal

C.F.R.

Code of Federal Regulations

Official code of in-force rules and regulations passed by federal agencies; arranged by agency and then by topic

C.J.S.

Corpus Juris Secundum

Legal encyclopedia that provides case citations; uses West key number system

F.
F.2d
F.3d

Federal Reporter

Reporter containing U.S. Court of Appeals cases

Fed. Appx.   

Federal Appendix

Reporter containing U.S. Court of Appeals cases not selected for publication in the Federal Reporter; coverage begins in 2001

F.R.D.

Federal Rules Decisions

Reporter containing U.S. District Court cases construing the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure and the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

F. Supp.
F. Supp. 2d

Federal Supplement

Reporter containing U.S. District Court cases

Fed. Reg.

Federal Register

Official daily publication providing rules, proposed rules and notices from federal agencies, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents

L. Ed.
L. Ed. 2d

United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition

Reporter containing U.S. Supreme Court cases; editors add headnote annotations

N.E.
N.E.2d

North Eastern Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from IL, IN, MA, NY, OH

N.W.
N.W.2d

North Western Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from IA, MI, MN, NE, ND, SD, WI

N.Y.S.
N.Y.S.2d

New York Supplement  

Reporter containing cases from New York

P.
P.2d
P.3d

Pacific Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from AK, AZ, CA, CO, HIO, ID, KS, MT, NV, NM, OK, OR, UT, WA, WY

S. Ct.

West's Supreme Court Report

Reporter containing U.S. Supreme Court cases; uses West key numbers; editors add headnote annotations

S.E.
S.E.2d

South Eastern Reporter

Regional reporter containing cases from GA, NC, SC, VA, WV

So. Or S.
So. 2d or S.2d
So. 3d or S.3d

Southern Reporter

The Bluebook citation manual abbreviation, followed by the ALWD Citation Manual abbreviation. Regional reporter containing cases from AL, FL, LA, MS

Stat.

Statutes at Large

Official session law publication containing laws passed by Congress

S.W.
S.W.2d
S.W.3d

South Western Reporter

Regional Reporter containing cases from AR, KY, MO, TN, TX

U.S.

United States Reports

Official reporter containing U.S. Supreme Court cases

U.S.C.

United States Code

Topical arrangement of laws passed by Congress

U.S.C.A.

United States Code Annotated

Annotated version of the U.S. Code; provides cross references to other resources; published by West

U.S.C.S.

United States Code Service

Annotated version of the U.S. Code; provides cross references to other resources; published by Lexis