Skip to main content

Open Repositories and Research Data: Interdisciplinary Repositories

Resources to find, manage, use, and share data and research. Please send me suggestions of resources to add!

Universities Worldwide

Open Repository and Bibliography (ORBi) from Université de Liège.

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library. Claremont Digital Initiatives content is discoverable here.

Chinese Rare Books Database of Tokyo University. This free, full-text, on-line database is provided by the Institute of Oriental Culture at the
University of Tokyo. It contains 4019 titles, including a large number of rare books from the late imperial period, such as many different Ming and Qing novels, classics, legal treatises, and drama scripts. All of them are searchable by title and can be read on-line or downloaded as fulltext.
There are two indexes on-line for the materials in the database. One is a “subject index,” organized according to traditional Chinese sibu (四部) categories; the other is a “title index,” organized according to the name of books.

Foreast: The Internet Asian Library. Digital Collections of Sources for Chinese Studies (articles, books, images, maps, statistics...)

Citizen Science

Open Textbooks

Open Access Textbooks : Resources for faculty who publish textbooks and students who use them.

Open Access Textbooks Task Force : Get your activisim on.

College Open Textbooks : OA textbooks and advocacy resources.

TextbookRebellion.org petion and advocacy group.

Open Course Library an almost free collection of expertly-developed educational materials – including textbooks, syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments – for 81 high-enrolling college courses. 42 courses have been completed so far, providing faculty with a high-quality option that will cost students no more than $30 per course.

Misc

Open Cultuur Data - datasets, apps, all open licensed in public domain. data and tools useing data.

DBpedia is a community effort to extract structured information from Wikipedia and to make this information available on the Web. DBpedia allows you to ask sophisticated queries against Wikipedia, and to link other data sets on the Web to Wikipedia data. We hope this will make it easier for the amazing amount of information in Wikipedia to be used in new and interesting ways, and that it might inspire new mechanisms for navigating, linking and improving the encyclopaedia itself.

Linked Open Data cloud diagram. This web page is the home of the LOD cloud diagram. This image shows datasets that have been published in Linked Data format, by contributors to the Linking Open Data community project and other individuals and organisations. It is based on metadata collected and curated by contributors to the CKAN directory. Clicking the image will take you to an image map, where each dataset is a hyperlink to its homepage

Fllowing list thanks to David Westra at University of Oregon

DataCite List of Repositories Compiled by the British Library, BioMed Central, and the UK's Digital Curation Centre.

Distributed Data Curation Center: Other Data Repositories Managed by Purdue University Libraries, the Distributed Data Curation Center lists of more than 50 open data repositories from a range of science disciplines.

Gene Expression Omnibus The Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) is an open data repository which provides access to microarray, next-generation sequencing, and other forms of functional genomic data submitted by the scientific community.

Global Change Master Directory The Global Change Master Directory, maintained by the Earth Sciences Directorate at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), provides access to more than 25,000 earth and environmental science data sets, relevant to global change and Earth science research.

MIT Data Management and Publishing: Sharing Your Data The MIT Libraries' subject guide on data management and publishing includes a list of open data repositories spanning the disciplines of astronomy, atmospheric science, biology, chemistry, earth science, oceanography and space science.

Oceanographic Data Repositories Funded by the National Science Foundation, the Biological and Chemical Oceanography Data Management Office (BCO-DMO) provides access to several oceanographic data repositories created by the US Joint Global Ocean Flux Study and US Global Ocean Ecosystem Dynamic programs.

Open Access Directory: Data Repositories Launched in 2008 and hosted by the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College, the Open Access Directory is a wiki that lists links to over 50 open data repositories in the disciplines of archaeology, biology, chemistry, environmental sciences, geology, geosciences and geospatial data, marine sciences, medicine and physics, as well as multidisciplinary open data repositories.

Public Data Sets on Amazon Web Services Amazon Web Services provides a centralized place to download public domain and non-proprietary astronomy, biology, chemistry and climatology data sets.

Digital Liibraries and Collaborative Repositories

Mountain West Digital Library is a central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region. We provide free access to over 600,000 resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and government agencies, counties, and municipalities in Utah, Nevada, and other parts of the U.S. West.

Open Journals