Skip to main content

Open Repositories and Research Data: Physical Sciences and Mathematics

Resources to find, manage, use, and share data and research. Please send me suggestions of resources to add!

Astronomy

HEASARC - NASA's High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center

Infrared Science Archive - NASA's science and data center for infrared astronomy

Extragalactic Database - NASA's archive of data for over 3 million extragalactic objects

National Virtual Observatory - Astronomical data from ground and space-based telescopes. Includes data analysis tools

National Space Science Data Center - Archive for NASA space mission data

Sloan Digital Sky Survey - Download optical images of the sky. See also, SkyServer for educational portal to the data.

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.1 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.

Chemistry

Cambridge Structural Database - small molecule crystal structures

eCrystals - x-ray crystallographic data

PubChem - NCBI's repository of bioactivy/bioassay data and information for "small" molecules (i.e. not macromolecular). Both text-based and structure-based search tools are provided

ChemSpider - free-to-access collection of chemical structures and their associated information

Computer Science and Source Code

CodePlex - provided by Microsoft

GitHub - Hosts developer libraries such as Ruby on Rails, IronRuby, jQuery, Perl

Google Code Project hosting - open APIs and Google projects like Google Gears, Android, Chromium.

Launchpad - includes projects such as Ubuntu, MySQL (code hosting)

SourceForge - the most popular open source code hosting facility according to this Wikipedia comparison

Cooperative Association for Internet Data Analysis (CAIDA) - Archive of data for scientific analysis of network functions

Physics

HEP Data - high-energy physics reaction database of Numerical HEP scattering cross sections

NIST Physical Standards Laboratory - physical reference data and property tables

National Nuclear Data Center - includes nuclear structure, reaction and decay databases

Sciences

Mathematics

STEM