Skip to main content

Open Repositories and Research Data: Life Sciences

Resources to find, manage, use, and share data and research. Please send me suggestions of resources to add!

Environmental and Life Sciences

Goddard Earth Sciences Data and Information Services Center

IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library - Climate-related datasets from the International Research Institute for Climate and Society at Columbia University

Marine Geoscience Data System (MGDS) - A data portal, hosted at the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
(Columbia University), for a number of NSF-supported marine research programs

NASA Warehouse Inventory Search Tool (WIST) - Locate earth science data from NASA and affiliated centers

National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) - Meteorology and paleoclimatology

NCAR/UCAR Community Data Portal - Climate and weather datasets and visualization software from the National Center for Atmospheric Research and the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research

National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) - World-wide marine environmental and ecosystem data

National Center for Atmospheric Research Computational & Information Systems Library

USGS National Satellite Land Remote Sensing Data Archive - Note that some data access is fee-based

GEON - Portal for datasets and visualization tools

National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) - Cryospheric datasets from ground field reseach and satellites

Biological and Life Sciences

GenBank - is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.

DigiMorph - Digital Morphology library is a dynamic archive of information on 3D scans, animations, and high-resolution X-ray computed tomography of biological specimens.

Dryad - Dryad is an international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences. See their data submission page for instructions. Dryad posts two different Twitter feeds, one for general news about Dryad and open data (@datadryad), and one for notices of new data (@datadryadnew).

Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”

National Biological Information Infrastructure - This portal links to a wide variety of data sources, such as the Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Data Access Wizard and the Biogeographic Information and Observation System (BIOS). A full list of all data sets is available here

PLEXdb - Gene expression data for plants and plant pathogens. It contains smaller databases for specific plants (e.g., BarleyBase) as well as a variety of related tools.

Protein DataBank - Experimentally determined structures for macromolecules (protein and nucleic acids). The site includes search and visualization tools

The Cell: An Image Library - Images of all cell types from all organisms, including intracellular structures and movies or animations demonstrating functions. This project relies upon the cell biology community to populate the library.

UniProt - Free protein sequences

GIS and Geography

Geodata.gov - One-stop for federal, state and local geographic data

GeoCommons.com GIS file repository and finding tool

Federal Geographic Data Committee - Provides access to the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) Clearing House Network and the geodata.gov portal

National Geographic Data Center - Archive of datasets

Open Journals

Open Biology is a fast, open access journal covering biology at the molecular and cellular level.