CiNii(Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") is a database service which can be searched with academic information of articles, Books & Journals.
It is available free of charge for anyone. In viewing paid content, special rates and other privileges are offered to institutional fixed-price users (registration by institution) or users with an ID (individual registration).
"CiNii Articles"enables you to search information on academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
About CiNii Articles>>
"CiNii Books"enables you to search information of books and journals held by university libraries in Japan.
About CiNii Books>>
This directory provides information on libraries and museums in North America that hold old and rare Japanese materials, including manuscripts, printed books, and single sheet items, such as maps and ukiyoe prints. Each entry consists of the institution's address, name of contact person, collection size, collection description, viewing possibility, reproduction policy, availability of online and print catalogs, and other relevant information. The directory was originally compiled by the Subcommittee on Japanese Rare Books under the Committee on Japanese Materials, Council on East Asian Libraries (CEAL), based on survey results provided by the participating institutions. At present, forty-four participating institutions collectively reported holdings of over 57,000 volumes of old and rare Japanese printed books/manuscripts and approximately 43,000 single sheet items. We intend to make efforts to expand the scope, soliciting participation also from European institutions in the future.
NCC's Online Guide to Research Access in Japanese Museum's Libraries and Archives (MLAs) (日本研究のためのMLAアクセスガイド) has been created for scholars and students who wish to conduct research in Japanese academic research institutions (MLA). Entries are based on information published by each institution summarized in English to assist foreign researchers in using and/or affiliating with Japanese institutions. Downloadable bilingual request letters are provided for advance contact and application. Each page links to the principal Japanese language pages of an institution, its main collections, related libraries, research institutes, special collections and institutional repositories.
This Guide also provides basic information on major funding sources for research in Japan and links to visa requirements for long and short-term research access. Where appropriate links to key directories of Japanese institutions with a special focus are also provided.
Sponsored by the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs this site "provides highly reliable information on Japan across many different genres including culture, sightseeing, society, history and nature. The content is provided primarily in English, but a portion of the site is multilingual."
Early Photography of Japan is a virtual collection of more than 40 souvenir photograph albums and illustrated publications with over 2,000 images from Widener Library, the Fine Arts Library, and Harvard-Yenching Library. These images primarily document the early history of commercial photography in Japan and are representative of what is often called Japanese tourist photography or Yokohama shashin. They reflect the Western image of traditional Japanese culture before the dramatic transformation brought about by modernization during the Meiji period (1868-1912).
The Great Kanto Earthquake 関東大震災写真集 site contains 199 images, which were scanned from black & white still photos matted on a black background. A sample matted image is provided under Reference #002.1. There are two photos on one page with basic descriptions in English. The images were later cropped. No image manuplation was applied. The UHM Library Asia Collection team created access categories and titles after consulting with the Metadata Librarian. The album may be supplemental materials to the publication:
The Great earthquake of September 1st, 1923: a record from the reports of the “Japan Chrinicle” of the destruction of Yokohama and Tokyo and the other ravages wrought.
108 p., leaves of plates: ill.;24 cm. Kobe: Japan Chronicle Office. OCLC: 768291265
The collection features 179 black/white and hand-colored images of the lantern slides, which were created and provided by the Nippon Rikkokai Foundation 日本力行会. The Nippon Rikkokai was founded by the late paster Hyodayu Shimanuki 島貫兵太夫 in 1897 to assist Japanese people who immigrated to other counties. The main images of the lantern slides at this site are lives of those immigrants to Americas, mainly to Brazil, in late 19th and early 20th century. The UHM Library has been given permission to share the images through the Library's Image site.
"This site collects classical works of Japanese literature, including prose, poetry, and drama (Noh, Kabuki, joruri). The site's original intended scope was based on a core collection of works that included texts such as the Man'yoshu, The Tale of Genji, The Pillow Book of Sei Shōnagon, and The Heike Monogatari, but it now includes much more than those core materials. The primary audience for this collection is English speakers. However, though the JTI's statement of scope states that whenever possible English translations will augment the vernacular versions, in practice English-language additions to the initiative are limited to brief introductory notes for several of the more important texts. For many of the translated works, readers have the option of selecting a version that includes furigana readings.
Users can search by author, title, chronological order (divided into premodern and modern periods), and by word or phrase within the texts in English, Romaji, and kanji (full access to texts requires that users have software that allows viewing and inputting Japanese characters). The site also provides a link to an online dictionary with English-to-Japanese and Japanese-to-English functions along with other valuable options (e.g., a kanji look-up and a text word translation). " Choice, September 2009
Cut and paste a text block to get a translated word list of Japanese or English. The results will look unchanged but mouse over the text to see pop-ups explaining the readings and translations of inidividual words.
"Donated by Kenneth and Claire Hopper to the Drucker Institute at Claremont Graduate University, the Kenneth Hopper Papers on Management include original correspondence, manuals, memoirs and other documents related to the Civil Communications Section (CCS) under General MacArthur's command in Tokyo after World War II. These papers tell the story of how the Americans shared their industrial management know-how with some very able Japanese, eventually giving rise to the so-called Asian Economic Miracle."
This album commemorates the enactment of Japan's constitution and is in English rather than Japanese. It was produced by The Society for the Popularization for the Constitution. The Kenpō Fukyū Kai was founded on December 1, 1946, as a result of pressure from occupation officials to “thoroughly popularize the spirit of the new Constitution through activities to raise awareness of it so as to touch every aspect of the lives of the citizens.” The society continued to carry out its tasks for a year or so after the 1947 promulgation of the constitution.
This set of slides commemorates the enactment of Japan's constitution. The slides are in Japanese and include drawings, colored cartoons, and images of the scales of justice with citizens. They were part of the effort to popularize the constitution. The slides show the educational purpose of the Committee for the Popularization of the Constitution (Kenpō Fukyū Kai) and explained what the new constitution accomplished as it was an entirely new concept to Japanese citizens accustomed to the absolute authority of an emperor.