Skip to main content

Education

A guide to library resources for education research

United States

National Center for Education Statistics. The primary U.S. federal entity for the collection and dissemination of data on education. Examples of resources include:

  • Digest of Education Statistics. Comprehensive statistical compendium for education in the United States. Enrollments, dropout rates, state teacher salaries, etc. 
  • State Education data profiles: Statewide information in elementary/secondary education characteristics and finance, postsecondary education, public libraries, assessments, and selected demographics for all states.

California Department of Education: Data and statistics collected from California schools

California Postsecondary Education Commission. The Commission closed in 2011, but data about higher education in California, including enrollment, school characteristics, transition from high school to college, and more, are still available on the site.

United States Census education data. Summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States.

Historical Statistics of the United States. Contains statistics on a wide spectrum of social and economic developments.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) : Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), from the University of Michigan, maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

Data Planet Statistical Insight. Provides access to U.S. and international statistical information. Includes some full text tables.

International

OECD iLibrary: Includes education statistics for OECD countries

UNESCO Insitute for Statistics: Statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

World Development Indicators Education Statistics database: Education indicators for access, progression, completion, literacy, teachers, population, and expenditures. 

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) : Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), from the University of Michigan, maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

Data Planet Statistical Insight. Provides access to U.S. and international statistical information. Includes some full text tables.

Geographical Information Systems (GIS) and Data Services

The library offers assistance with locating large datasets and with using data for Geographical Information Systems projects. For example, you might want to display a large data set on educational attainment in selected U.S. communities on a map.

Claremont Center for the Mathematical Sciences (CCMS) Software Lab : Located in Honnold/Mudd Library, the lab is available for students to get help with statistical software packages.