Skip to main content

Shakespeare

A guide to the many resources available for research on Shakespeare and his works.

images

Images can be very valuable resources for the study of Shakespeare, whether you are writing a research paper or staging a production. Here are some sources for images related to Shakespeare and his plays.

Online Images

The Cleveland Press Shakespeare Photographs, from Cleveland State University Library, includes approximately 400 images from publicity photographs featuring regional production companies --Cleveland's Great Lakes Shakespeare Festival, the Stratford Festival in Ontario, Canada and others; New York stage productions; motion pictures; and televised productions including several highly praised series (The Shakespeare Plays, Hallmark Hall of Fame, etc.). Notable actors and artists include Judith Anderson, Peggy Ashcroft, Richard Burton, Claire Bloom, Katherine Cornell, Maurice Evans, John Gielgud, Leslie Howard, Rudolf Nureyev, Laurence Olivier, Leontyne Price, Paul Robeson, and Maggie Smith.

You can also search Google Images to find images online related to Shakespeare; for example, you might search Shakespeare, Globe Theatre, or Hamlet.

Images from the Folger Shakespeare Library

Most of the books in the list below are available in Honnold/Mudd, many of them in Special Collections.

A Catalogue of Paintings in the Folger Shakespeare Library: "As Imagination Bodies Forth," by William L. Pressly. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1993. A comprehensive catalog of paintings in the Folger Library. (FOL PR 2933 F64 P7 1993 )

The First Folio of Shakespeare, prepared by Charlton Hinman. 2nd Ed. New York: W. W. Norton & Co., 1996. This book, also known as The Norton Facsimile, contains a facsimile photograph of each page of the 1623 edition of Shakespeare’s Works, taken from the copies in the Folger Library collection. Included is the famous Droeshout engraving of Shakespeare on the title page. (Special Collections: PR2751 .A15 1968)

Infinite Variety: Exploring the Folger Shakespeare Library. Edited by Esther Ferington. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 2002; distributed by University of Washington Press, Seattle. (LINK+)

Any play in the New Folger Library Shakespeare series of Shakespeare’s plays, edited by Barbara A. Mowat and Paul Werstine. New York: Washington Square Press, published by Pocket Books. These editions of Shakespeare’s plays contain graphics illustrating the meaning of phrases, words and references in each play. (LINK+)

Shakespeare: The Globe and the World, by Samuel Schoenbaum. New York: Folger Shakespeare Library, Oxford University Press, 1979. Perhaps the best general source for Folger Library images of Shakespeare and his times. (PR 2933 F64 S3)

Tales from Shakespeare, by Charles and Mary Lamb. Folger Books. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 1979. A 19th century children’s retelling of 20 of the plays, with frequent illustrations from the Folger collection. (LINK+; other editions available in Honnold/Mudd)

The Widening Circle: The Story of the Folger Shakespeare Library and Its Collections, by Betty Ann Kane. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 1976. (Special Collections: Z733.F6632 K34)

Folger Library Exhibition Catalogs

Most of the books in the list below are available in Honnold/Mudd or Dension libraries.

A Decade of Collecting: An Exhibition Celebrating Ten Years of Acquisitions 1990-1999. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 2000. (Interlibrary Loan)

"Designs from Fancy": George Romney’s Shakespearean Drawings, by Yvonne Romney Dixon. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 1998; distributed by University of Washington Press, Seattle. (NC242.R64 A4 1998)

Elizabethan Households: An Anthology, by Lena Cowen Orlin. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 1995; distributed by University of Washington Press, Seattle. A catalog of an exhibition on private life in Elizabethan England. (DA356 .O72 1995x)

Folger’s Choice: Favorites on Our Fifty-fifth Anniversary. Washington, DC.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 1987. Photographs and descriptions of 54 items from the Folger collections. (Interlibrary Loan)

Fooles and Fricassees: Food in Shakespeare’s England, edited by Mary Anne Caton. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 1999; distributed by University of Washington Press, Seattle. (GT2853.G7 F68 1999)

Impressions of Wenceslaus Hollar, by Rachel Doggett, Julie L. Biggs, and Carol Brobeck. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 1996; distributed by University of Washington Press, Seattle. (NE642.H7 A4 1996)

Roasting the Swan of Avon: Shakespeare’s Redoubtable Enemies and Dubious Friends, by Bruce R. Smith. Edited by Rachel Doggett. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 1994. (PR2929 .S65 1994)

Shakespeare’s Unruly Women, by Georgianna Ziegler with Frances E. Dolan and Jeanne Addison Roberts. Washington, D.C.: The Folger Shakespeare Library, 1997; distributed by University of Washington Press, Seattle. (PR 2991 Z53 1997)

Outreach & Public Services, Special Collections; Liaison Librarian for British & American literature