Skip to main content

Library Quick Start Guide for Students

Welcome to the Claremont Colleges Library! Use this guide to get oriented and learn the basics of what the library has to offer.

Finding Articles

Follow the steps outlined below to find the articles you need. Click on each step for detailed guidance.

Suggestion: Before you begin your search, consider what types of articles you want. Should they come from scholarly journals, newspapers, popular magazines, trade publications? Also, consider the audience you are writing for and the point(s) you want to make using the articles you find.

1. Decide which subject(s) and database(s) are appropriate for your research.
The Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases. To make choosing appropriate databases easier, they have been grouped by subject (art, biology, psychology, etc.) and by type (dictionaries, images, newspapers, etc.) on the databases page.

2. Develop a search statement and search the database.
Whether you are using databases or more traditional research tools, like books and bibliographies, one of the most challenging aspects of research is developing an effective search strategy. What are the key words? How can they be combined effectively?

3. Use Get This Item to get the articles you want.
Once you have found articles you want to read, the green Get This Item button provides a quick way to find any available online full-text copies, find paper copies available from the library, or request electronic copies through Interlibrary Loan.