Skip to main content

Open Access Resources: Find OA Images and Other Media

Information and resources to better your understanding of the use and creation of Open Access scholarship.

CCDL

Citing Images

For presentations and less formal image use, use a name, title and link.

For formal citations for papers, documentation, reports etc., use the link below.

More information on citing images found on the web with examples for Flickr and Creative Commons images. Help with ALA, MLA and Chicago style citations here.

Find and Cite Images for Papers and Presentations

Scientific and Medical Images

  • Center for Disease Control and Prevention  Rating
    Public Health Image Library (PHIL) Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files
  • Galaxy of Images  Rating
    Contains a portion of the more than 1.5 million printed books and manuscripts in the collections of Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
  • Google Images  Rating
  • HON Media  Rating
    HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6'800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. This peerless database has been created manually by HON and new image links are constantly being added from the world-wide Web. HON encourages
  • Images MD  Rating
    Consists of over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine's series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed explanatory text and citation of the source
  • NASA Images  Rating
    Offers public access to NASA's images, videos and audio collections
  • Online Maps and Aerial Photographs  Rating
    UCI Subject Guide by Brian Williams

Thanks to Julia Gelfand and her UCI Subject Guide.

Claremont Colleges Digital Library

There are many wonderful digital images in the CCDL  from the galleries, museum, faculty collections, library collections and student works. Find something really interstesting and you'd like to see the original up close? Send us a webmail (from the CCDL website) and we can tell you where to find it or look in the rights statement of each item.

To find an image, look at the top menu bar under Topics or Object Type. Search a single collection on a topic or name or search multiple collecitons with the advanced search.

All images are Open Access, just give credit (see rights statement on each item).

OA Image, Video, Other Media Collections

Collections of digital images freely accessible to the public:
  • CC Search - convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations.
  • Wikimedia Commons   A database of 3,346,310 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
  • Wikimedia Public Domain be sure to double-check the copyright status - chock full of great stuff from varied sources.
  • Flickr- The Commons and Creative Commons  - World's public photography collection/archive. Library of Congress, various museums, and libraries have also posted photographs for you to view.
  • Open Culture - Audio books, movies, online course, language lessons, eBooks, cultural icons
  • Open Culture art images and books, including exhibition catalogs
  • Calisphere - "The University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources."
  • Wellcome Images - 2,000 years of cultural history with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
    Over 150,000 digitized items including photographs, newspaper, political cartoons, works of art, transcribed oral histories, and other unique cultural artifacts from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses and a variety of cultural heritage organizations.
  • Retronaut - a wonderful ever growing collection of popular culture images. Search a wide variety of subjects such as "suffrage," "Monet," or "kitchen." Word of warning, can be habit forming.
  • National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial.
  • morgueFile - high resolution stock photos
  • StockXchng - free stick photos
  • Dartmouth Library Creative Commons Resources by Barbara DeFelice.
  • National Portrait Gallery - More than 53,000 low-resolution images are now available free of charge to non-commercial users through a standard Creative Commons license and automated interface.
  • National Gallery of Art - NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. More than 22,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
  • Noun Project - Our community is building a visual language of icons anyone can understand.
  • Rumsey’s Visual Collections  
    Over 300,000 images from over 50 collections including maps, artwork, and photographs that are both free and subscription based collections. All collections are presented in Insight.
  • Wikimedia Commons  
    A database of 3,346,310 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
  • Wikimedia Public Domain be sure to double-chaeck the copyright status - chock full of great stuff from varied sources.
  • Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 11th to mid-19th centuries.
  • CONTENTdm Collection of Collections
    A sampling of collections created by the hundreds of libraries and cultural heritage organizations using CONTENTdm digital library software.
  • Comic Strip Generator
    Looking for a comic strip to express a point? This is the place to create your own.

Thanks to Julia Gelfand and her UCI Subject Guide for most of the content here.

    Other sources in subscription databases

    Check out the Art and Art History Guide.

    CGU MFA exhibits

    CGU mfa exhibits

    Check the rights statement for use.
       Questions or want to contact the artist?
    Contact:
    Scholarship@Claremont staff or a librarian.

    Reverse Image Look Up and Other Tools