Provides searching of IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards.
•Provides searching of IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
•Index access to the core conference proceedings and IEEE journals from 1998 to the present.
CUC only - Article citations from the most cited journals from across the sciences and social sciences
•Provides access to scholarly science, social science, and arts and humanities journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
•Sciences citation index: 1900-present
•Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
•Arts and humanities citation index: 1997-present
•Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
•Help using this database is available.
Contains citations with abstracts to articles and reviews in physics, electrical and elctronics engineering, computing and control, and information technology.
•Provides access to citations with abstracts to articles and reviews in Physics, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Computing and Control, and Information Technology.
•Great for research in the applied sciences.
•THE database for physics, electronics and computing.
The E-print Network is . . .
. . . a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels.
. . . a gateway to over 35,300 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE. We hope the E-print Network proves valuable to you in supporting your research initiatives.
"TechXtra is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing."
Google's searching across scholarly journals and books, and is great for searching across multiple disciplines.
•Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
•Orders your search results by relevance.
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.4 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 267,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
BESTT consists of a multi-disciplinary group of scientists, engineers, veterinarians, stem cell biologists and physicians working together with the ultimate goal to develop new approaches for the treatment of damaged joints or disc degeneration.
The research at the CRE is primarily focused on using engineering technology to improve the health and quality of life of people with a spinal cord injury. Our activities range from investigations into the fundamental principles of balance control and the modelling of bone and muscle, over clinical applications such as abdominal muscle stimulation for cough and respiratory function in tetraplegia, to the development and evaluation of systems to allow functional training and exercise for people with spinal cord injury, using lower-limb paraplegic cycling, assisted arm-cranking and active treadmill therapy with robotic assistance. Emerging fields of research include the use of brain-computer interface technology in combination with virtual reality in neuro-rehabilitation and pain therapy.
"The long range goal is to build computational bridges between brain levels from the biophysical properties of synapses to the function of neural systems. The central issues being addressed are how dendrites integrate synaptic signals in neurons, how neural circuits generate behavior, and how learning and sleep adaptively modify these circuits. Fast-spiking parvalbumin-positive interneurons are the focus of both computational and experimental studies of attention in the visual cortex and dysfunction in schizophrenia. Synapses are explored with Monte Carlo methods (MCell) and brain activity is analyzed with the independent components analysis (ICA)."
HHMI’s flagship program in biomedical research rests on the conviction that scientists of exceptional talent, commitment, and imagination will make fundamental biological discoveries for the betterment of human health if they receive the resources, time, and freedom to pursue challenging questions. Approximately 330 investigators, selected through rigorous national competitions, currently include 13 Nobel Prize winners and 141 members of the National Academy of Sciences. Hughes laboratories, found at more than 70 U.S. universities, research institutes, medical schools, and affiliated hospitals, employ nearly 700 postdocs and provide training opportunities for more than 1,000 graduate students each year.
Interdisciplinary research laboratory at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, affiliated with Harvard Medical School, Harvard-M.I.T. Division of Health Sciences and Technology, and the Center for Polymer Studies at Boston University.
The Neural Engineering Center (NEC) is a coordinated group of scientists and engineers dedicated to research and education in an area at the interface between neuroscience and engineering. They share the common goal of analyzing the function of the nervous system, developing methods to restore damaged neurological function, and creating artificial neuronal systems by integrating physical, chemical, mathematical, biological and engineering tools.
The Center for Integrative Biomedical Computing (CIBC) is dedicated to producing open-source software tools for biomedical image-based modeling, biomedical simulation and estimation, and the visualization of biomedical data. The Center works closely with software users and collaborators in a range of scientific domains to produce user-optimized tools and provides advice, technical support, workshops, and education to enhance user success. Biological projects and collaborations drive our development efforts, all with a single unifying vision: to develop the role of image-based modeling and analysis in biomedical science and clinical practice.
The Organization for Human Brain Mapping (OHBM) is the primary international organization dedicated to neuroimaging research. The organization was created in 1995 and has since evolved in response to the explosion in the field of human functional neuroimaging and its movement into the scientific mainstream. One of the primary functions of the organization is to provide an educational forum for the exchange of up-to-the-minute and groundbreaking research across modalities exploring Human Brain Mapping. It does this through a growing membership and an annual conference, held in different locations throughout the world.
The Whitaker International Fellows and Scholars Program sends emerging leaders in U.S. biomedical engineering (or bioengineering) to undertake a self-designed project that will enhance their own careers within the field. In the first four years of the Whitaker Program, 100 grants have been awarded to Fellows and Scholars to conduct projects in over 20 countries worldwide.