Skip to main content

The Asian Library: Welcome!

Contact the Asian Library

phone icon


  email icon

Drop-in assistance at the Asian Library, Honnold Library 3rd floor: Fall 2015 Sunday-Thursday, 1-5 PM

Need additional research help? Contact the Library:

phone icon Call Us:
mobile icon Text Us:
email icon Email Us:
7C email form
Twitter icon Follow Us:
Facebook icon Like Us:
Honnold/Mudd Library
phone icon IM Us:


Chat requires JavaScript.


♦ Contact the librarian with expertise in your research area.

♦ Talk with a librarian during drop-in reference hours.

♦ Discover resources and tools to aid your research in subject research guides.

Welcome to the Asian Library!

Welcome to the website for the Asian Library of The Claremont Colleges. A distinguished library within The Claremont Colleges Library, the mission of the Asian Library is to support The Colleges’ curricula in the arts & humanities, social sciences, STEM, and language studies. We also serve the research needs of the wider world of scholars. The Asian Library is noted for its rare book, manuscript, and artifact collections from China, Japan, and Korea. Building on the strength of our historical collections, we acquire new materials in print and digital formats in the vernacular languages in support of research, teaching, and learning.

We now are entering a new strategic planning process with the goal of aligning the Asian Library as a partner for The Claremont Colleges. We aim to strengthen and support the growth of Asian Studies at Claremont by broadening our collecting efforts to include South, Southeast, and Western Asia, building on our foundational collections of China, Japan, and Korea, and by collaborating with faculty on expanding and improving our instruction and research services and physical spaces within the library.

The Asian Library is located on the 3rd floor of Honnold/Mudd Library.

The Asian Library collection includes the following:

42,000 print volumes

230 print periodicals

8 online databases--newspapers, journals, and data 

Chinese silk embroidery in Asian Library Special Collections

(Love Your) Library Workshops & Events

The Library offers a dazzling array of workshops and other events, all tailored to supoprt your work and research. Sign up today.

Head of the Asian Library


Librarian position vacant

FMI: Contact the Director of Special Collections & Libraries

Director of Special Collections & Libraries

Carrie Marsh
Special Collections, Honnold/Mudd Library

800 N. Dartmouth Ave.

Claremont, CA 91711

Website / Blog Page