This is the "Home" page of the "Art Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art Business  

Research resources for students in the CGU/SIA Art Business Program
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/art-business Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Art Librarian

Profile Image
Alex Chappell
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Honnold/Mudd Library
Send Email

Art Price/Auction Databases -- Non-subscription

These databases do not need a special login to use.

  • Art Sales Index (BASI)
    Over 4.9 million auction sale results for paintings, watercolors, drawings, sculptures, and selected prints & photographs from 1922 to the present. The Art Sales Index online database includes over 255,000 artists and 350 auction houses.
  • Christie's Auction Results
    Search/browse results back to 1998
  • Sotheby's Auction Results
    Results back to 1995 - some results require registration for free account

Art Price/Auction Databases (via SIA/NY Library)

These databases are provided via the Sotheby's NY Library for current CGU Art Business students, faculty, and staff ONLY.

For on- or off-campus access you will need the log in provided by SIA/NY. Contact the Art Business office if you don't know your login.

  • ArtNet Price Database
    Fine and Decorative Art Auctions database with over 2.9 million records from over 500 auction houses since 1985. Over half of the records include illustrations. Over 1,000 galleries are featured. The library subscribes to the Price Database only. Market Trends are not covered by the subscription.
  • Artprice
    Databank of 21 million auction prices and indices, detailed auction results and 309,000 artists. Lists upcoming auctions for over 2900 auction houses. Archive of 270,000 fine art auction catalogues. Artists’ reports, art market key figures and trends by country.
  • ArtFact Professional
    HAS ITS OWN SPECIAL LOGIN - ASK AT ART BUSINESS OFFICE
    Online access to information from hundreds of auction catalogues. Past Auction Prices includes prices of everything from fine art to film memorabilia with strengths in decorative and applied arts coverage from the past 15 years.

Art and Art History Databases (via Claremont Colleges Library)

For off-campus access you will need to log in using your LAST NAME and 10-digit CGU ID #

  • Art Full Text
    Includes citations from more than 250 of the leading arts journals from 1929 to the present, with full-text of selected journal articles beginning in 1997. Includes Art Retrospective.
  • ARTbibliographies Modern
    Covers art from the late-19th-century to the present. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews from 1974 to the present.
  • ARTstor
    over 1,000,000 high-resolution images, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. You will need to create a free account before you can download images.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
    Includes citations to journals, books, conference papers, on Western art published between 1975 and 2007. There is no direct linking to what the library owns.
  • International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
    The successor to BHA, IBA includes citations to journals, books, conference papers, on Western art published from 2008 to the present, with some full text and some retrospective cataloging.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Includes Grove's Dictionary of Art, Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

Business Databases (via Claremont Colleges Library)

For off-campus access you will need to log in using your LAST NAME and 10-digit CGU ID #

Law Databases (via Claremont Colleges Library)

For off-campus access you will need to log in using your LAST NAME and 10-digit CGU ID #

  • Hein Online
    Treaties, Law Journals, and historical law materials.
  • LexisNexis
    Full text law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings, and news stories. USE THE US LEGAL TAB ON LEFT.
  • Westlaw
    Full-text access to law cases, federal and state, legal subject guides, law reviews, statutes and administrative materials, legislative materials and legal encyclopedias.

News(paper) Databases (via Claremont Colleges Library)

For off-campus access you will need to log in using your LAST NAME and 10-digit CGU ID #

General Databases (via Claremont Colleges Library)

For off-campus access you will need to log in using your LAST NAME and 10-digit CGU ID #

  • JSTOR
    Full-text scholarly journals. For most of its journals, JSTOR does NOT include the most recent (3-5 years) articles.
  • Project Muse
    Full-text scholarly journal articles. Includes current issues.
  • Academic Search Premier
    multi-disciplinary full-text, and indexing. Includes scholarly, popular, and news publications
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip