Skip to main content

Science, Technology, and Society (STS)

Use this guide to find information about science, technology, and society and conducting research at the Claremont Colleges Library. Credit: This guide is a mashup of Cynthia Cohen's course guide, Eli Gandour-Rood's (University of Puget Sound) STS guide,

Some STS Call Numbers

Science-Social aspects (May Subd Geog)  [Q175.5]

Science-Philosophy [Q175]

Religion and science (May Subd Geog)  [BL239-265]

Women in technology (May Subd Geog)  [T36]

Art and technology (May Subd Geog)  [N72.T4]

E-book Guide

You can find library e-books using The Library Search or WorldCat, and... then what? This guide explains file formats, digital rights, and how to read library e-books on your computer or download them for use on the go.

STS Indexing and Discovery Resources

Scholarly Journals

The following databases are recommended for finding scholarly journal articles for research topics in this class.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Premier: A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.

Web of ScienceProvides access to scholarly science, social science, and arts and humanities journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.

Discipline-focused

Anthropology PlusCitations for articles and essays in anthropology and archaeology.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) InternationalSelected citations for journal articles, books, government documents and reports and foreign language publications.

Philosopher's IndexThe main database for finding scholarship in Philosophy. Includes articles, books, chapters, reviews and dissertations.

PsycINFO: Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences.

Sociological Abstracts: Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles from the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Women's Studies International: Scholarly citations for books and articles on gender and women's studies.