Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own The Library Search.
1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)
3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:
"colonial america* AND Slave*" inn the keyword field
"sources" in the subject field.
(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in "Slavery--Political aspects--United States--History--18th century--Sources".
Full text access to over 150 years of American magazine journalism (1741-1900). Coverage for some titles extends into the mid-20th century. An outstanding resource for anyone studying the development of American history and culture from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Full text of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.The collection is based on the American Bibliography, 1801-1819 by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items including 1,000 cataloged items previously unavailable in microfilm editions.
Coverage early 1800s-present. Filter your results by Media and Document to see just primary sources. A deep bacfilet of reference books and monographs, dating back to the mid 1800s. Over 5,000 primary documents: manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other papers. Over 3,500 interviews with former slaves' the WPA slave narratives ' from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography, now re-indexed and for the first time fully searchable. Includes 67 Negro University Press texts from the early 1800s to the early 1970s' classics in black scholarship.
Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers and Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. The National Archives collection CO 1. Papers that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757, which relate to England's governance of, and activities in, the American, Canadian and West Indian colonies. The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. Supplemented with searchable full transcriptions, extracts or summary abstracts.
Covers interactions between American Indians and Europeans from earliest contact, through the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. Contains: manuscripts ranging from the early 16th to the mid-20th centuries; Artwork including rare American Indian ledger art; Speeches and petitions written by American Indians; Diaries, essays, travel journals and ledger books from early European expeditions and treaty-related materials; Linguistic studies and ethnographic accounts of American Indian life; and photographs, rare printed books, and American Indian newspapers from the 1960s-1990s. Themes include European Powers, US Government, Military Encounters, Culture-related materials, Indigenous Peoples of Mexico, First Nations of Canada, missionaries and Education, trade and Indian economies and the Civil Rights Movement.
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition contains books and pamphlets, newspaper and periodical titles, and major manuscript collections for studying the history of slavery. Part II: Focuses on the United Kingdom, France, and the United States. This collection features a wide range of materials, from monographs and individual papers to company records, newspapers, and a variety of government documents. Part III: Contains the inner workings of slavery from 1492-1888 through legal documents, plantation records, first-person accounts, newspapers, government records and other primary sources. Part IV: rare documents related to emancipation in the United States, as well as Latin America, the Caribbean, and other areas of the world.
Provides access to primary documents related to women's history, 1543-1945. Includes some two million page images from primary documents on topics such as women's rights, suffrage, birth control, the nature and role of women, the historical and legal status of women, prostitution, the education of girls and women, biography and autobiography, and secondary materials on women writers, marriage and the family, employment of women, women and religion, and women's voluntary associations.
Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. Examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present. Excellent resource for primary sources. The database presents books, pamphlets and related materials to provide scholars with in-depth access to the published histories and records of women's reform organizations throughout the United States.