Skip to main content

Environmental Analysis 172: Nuts & Bolts

This seminar explores the history and cultural significance of the public lands, and of the agencies that manage them, including the US Forest Service, Park Service, Fish and Wildlife Service, and the Bureau of Land Management.

(Love Your) Library Workshops & Events

Frequently Used Links

Tools to Manage Your Research -- RefWorks & Zotero

Both RefWorks and Zotero allow you to keep citations, full text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. You can also use these tools to format your bibliographies and the notes/citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).

RefWorks
RefWorks is web-based. You can access it and create an account from any computer connected to the internet. RefWorks is free to current students of The Claremont Colleges.

Zotero
Zotero is a free, open-source application that you download from the web and install on your computer.

The Library offers workshops on how to use both of these "bibliographic management" tools, as well as on EndNote, a similar application that you purchase and install on your computer.

For more information about these tools, or about workshops, contact Gale Burrow.

Open Access Content

When you are affiliated with a higher education instituion, you have information privilege. That is, you have access to Library-subscribed scholarly content that is not freely available on the open web. Little known fact: this access usually ends when you graduate.

Led by academic libraries and information activists, the Open Access movement provides an alternative: a bridge to to open scholarship, no matter your institutional ties. OA expands the content that is available across access barriers, and is gaining ground in the scholarly community. As you engage in your research, try exploring the following OA repositories:

BASE is a vast cross-disciplinary international metasearch for OA content.

The Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals and aims to cover all subjects and all languages.

OpenDoar is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. From University of Nottingham, UK.

ROAR provides up-to-date visual access to a huge database of open access repositories.

Also, check out the Linked Open Data cloud:

These and many other OA resources will be available to you after you leave the Claremont Colleges. For more information on hundreds of open content and open data repositories, check out our Open Repositories & Research Data and Scholarly Communications and Open Access guides.

Char's Publications via Different Discovery Methods.

You can compare the breadth of results for Char's (many) publications in Blais and Link+, as well as the giant meta-catalog WorldCat (which lists items in libraries worldwide, including some article and other formats).

This recent edited volume of Char's was featured in our Faculty Authors case (near the Services Desk on the 2nd floor of Honnld/Mudd Library). Want us to own more of Char's (or any other author's) books? Suggest a purchase.

Your Library Loves You

Seriously, we do.

Proof: you can sign up for amazing research workshops, attend a Discourse lecture, Ask Us about anything under the sun, suggest a purchase, and much, much more

Check us out on Facebook and Twitter.