Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own The Library Search.
1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)
3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:
"england and slavery" in the keyword field
"sources" in the subject field.
This brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in" Slave trade--England -18th Century - Sources"
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition contains books and pamphlets, newspaper and periodical titles, and major manuscript collections for studying the history of slavery. Part II: Focuses on the United Kingdom, France, and the United States. This collection features a wide range of materials, from monographs and individual papers to company records, newspapers, and a variety of government documents. Part III: Contains the inner workings of slavery from 1492-1888 through legal documents, plantation records, first-person accounts, newspapers, government records and other primary sources. Part IV: rare documents related to emancipation in the United States, as well as Latin America, the Caribbean, and other areas of the world.
Full-text of articles from major African American newspapers published in the United States in the 19th century. Coverage 1827-1902. Includes: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder. Years covered: 1827-1902
Full text access to over 150 years of American magazine journalism (1741-1900). Coverage for some titles extends into the mid-20th century. An outstanding resource for anyone studying the development of American history and culture from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Full text of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.The collection is based on the American Bibliography, 1801-1819 by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items including 1,000 cataloged items previously unavailable in microfilm editions.
Provides access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701-1800. Full-text images of 33 million text-searchable pages can be viewed online or downloaded. 1701-1800. An incomparable collection of primary resources to meet the needs of scholars in English literature, history, linguistics, the fine arts, and the history of printing. When complete, will include every significant 18th-century English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
A collection of 17th and 18th century British newspapers and periodicals. Claremont has access to sources from the Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas. These holdings were documented in British Newspapers and Periodicals, 1632-1800, and other titles have been added. Claremont has access to sources from the Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas (section: Eighteenth Century Journals II, Newspapers and Periodicals 1699-1812, from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin). Supports studies of the Eighteenth Century ' including Literature, the Theatre, the origins and rise of Romanticism, Politics, Revolution and Rebellion, Social issues, Gender, Society Life, Religion and the influence of the Press. Does not duplicate resources in EEBO, Early English Newspapers and ECCO. Digitized, searchable.
British State Papers of the Tudors, Domestic, 1509-1603 and Stuarts, Domestic, 1603-1714. Gathers together 16th-, 17th-, and 18th-Century British State Papers and links these rare historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable Calendars. Allows Early Modern scholars access to the behind the scenes workings of the Tudor and Stuart governments. Supports trans- and multi-disciplinary, as well as early modern, historical, political, and social science research. Part I: The Tudors, Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603, State Papers Domestic. Part II: The Tudors, Henry VIII to Elizabeth I, 1509-1603, State Papers Foreign, Ireland, Scotland, Borders and Acts of Privy Council. Part III: The Stuarts: James I to Anne, 1603-1714, State Papers Domestic. Part IV: The Stuarts: James to Anne, 1603 - 1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland; and Registers of the Privy Council. State Papers Online: 18th century Part I.
A major place to go for full text sources, many from the 19th Century. Over 14.6 million volumes, many full text, many from the past, many in other languages. Please see the guide below for directions to log in from the different CUC institutions.